Radio Electromagnetic Spectrum

Radio electromagnetic spectrum refers to the range of frequencies of electromagnetic radiation that can be used for radio communication.

The spectrum is divided into several bands, each with different characteristics and uses.

Some examples of bands in the radio electromagnetic spectrum include:

Very Low Frequency (VLF): 3-30 kHz, used for communication with submarines

Low Frequency (LF): 30-300 kHz, used for navigation

Medium Frequency (MF): 300-3000 kHz, used for AM radio broadcasting

High Frequency (HF): 3-30 MHz, used for shortwave radio broadcasting and amateur radio

Very High Frequency (VHF): 30-300 MHz, used for television broadcasting, FM radio, and mobile communication.

Ultra High Frequency (UHF): 300-3000 MHz, used for television broadcasting, mobile communication, and satellite communication.

Super High Frequency (SHF): 3-30 GHz, used for microwave communication and radar.

It’s important to note that the use of frequency bands of the radio spectrum is regulated by governments and international organizations, such as the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), to avoid interference and optimise the use of these resources.